Choices

Dear People of God,

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about choice.  From listening to the debates about funding contraceptives, to the Supreme Court’s hearing on healthcare, to my home front as my youngest child, Rose, contemplates where to go to college next year.

Choice making is a value laden activity which goes to the heart of our values and shapes our future.  We know this on a relational level—if I marry you, I preclude others and my future is cast with your lot.  On a business level we know this too; if our company adopts this system, we will displace/ or hire this many people.

Choice making is at the heart of our capitalist system.  Markets react to the options consumers exercise.  The system is efficient and productive.  But there are occasions when the panoply is too much or too blunt an instrument.

Choice can also look like self-sacrifice, as in “I have no choice but to do this.”  One thinks of Martin Luther, “Here I stand, I can do no other.”  Or the Son of Man, “Not my will, but yours be done.”

As we enter into Holy Week, I pray that our choices may be aligned not primarily with our whims, or the market’s, but God’s will for our lives and that of the world.

Lisa

Share

Leave a Reply

